Schengen Visa

The Schengen Office can assist with obtaining visas to the following popular Schengen destinations:

Poland (Business Visa applications only),
Germany (Business Visa applications only)

The following Schengen countries require personal application at the relevent Embassy. The Schengen Office does NOT offer a service for these countries. Click on the country name below for the Embassy website details.

Austria Italy  
Denmark Luxembourg  
Germany Tourist Visa Netherlands Tourist Visa  
Finland Norway  
Greece Sweden  
Iceland Spain  
Belgium Hungary

Existing Schengen countries are as follows:

Austria Greece Netherlands
Belgium Hungary Norway
Czech Republic Iceland Poland
Denmark Italy Portugal
Estonia Latvia Slovenia
Finland Lithuania Slovakia
France Luxembourg Spain
Germany Malta Sweden

Travelling in Europe has been simplified with the introduction of the Schengen visa. As a visitor to the Schengen area, you will enjoy the many advantages of this unified visa system. Generally speaking with a Schengen visa, you may enter one country and travel freely throughout the Schengen region during the validity of the visa. Internal border controls are limited with no or few stops and checks.

The name "Schengen" originates from a small town in Luxembourg where in March 1995, seven European Union countries signed a treaty to end internal border checkpoints and controls. More countries have joined the treaty over the past years. At present, there are 22 Schengen countries, all in Europe.

Schengen countries / territories

On the 21st December, the Schengen zone was expanded to include nine new countries: Czech Republic, Hungary, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia. Schengen States are a group of European countries which have signed an agreement to allow free circulation of people within the territory of the member countries. Please note that the UK and Ireland are not a part of the Schengen agreement.

Where to apply for Schengen visa:

A Schengen Visa is applied for at the Embassy or Consulate of the Schengen country which you will be spending the most nights on your trip to the Schengen Space. If you are only visiting one country on your trip then you apply for your visa at the Consulate of this Schengen country.

When to apply for Schengen visa:

If you require a Schengen Visa you need to apply before travelling.

Do I have to have travel insurance:

Travel insurance including medical cover and repatriation is required when you apply for your Schengen visa (actual repatriation clause needs to be presented to the Consulate) . It must cover the duration of the requested visa - annual insurance may be required if you are requesting a multi-entry visa. The following Travel Insurance Companies. provide appropriate cover for your application.

Multiple Schengen visa:

A multiple entry Schengen visa will allow the holder several entries into the Schengen area, allowing you to return to the UK and then re-enter the Schengen area at a later date.

Not all embassies issue multiple entry visas some prefer to only issue a single entry visa to cover you for the specific trip you are going on.

UK residency requirements when applying for a Schengen visa:

Generally you need to have at least three months left on your UK immigration visa at the time you return from your holiday. If for example your visa expires on 12 December 2010 you can only apply for a visa up to 12 September 2010.